My Three “R”s: Writing, Reading, & Riding

Lukas & me

Lukas & me

I started writing stories, reading books, and riding horses around the age of five, and they are still my passions today. I grew up in Minneapolis, Minnesota, but now I live in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia with my husband Adrian, my son Innes, our husky-collie mix Niska, and two ridiculously fluffy cats called Nico and Raffi. My daughter Amie lives in Ottawa. Every weekend I ride a half-blind former show hunter called Lukas at Restless Pines Farm, and the rest of the time I’m hard at work writing my second novel. Except for those precious hours I grab to curl up on the couch and read a good book!

3 thoughts on “My Three “R”s: Writing, Reading, & Riding

  1. Hi Vivien! It’s nice to “meet” you. Your book sounds lovely. I’m curious to know what age range it’s for?
    Also, I have to tell you that I have a very good friend named Niska – you don’t see that name around very often!


    • Hi Naomi, nice to meet you too! Touch of Gold is for middle-grade readers: 9 or 10 to 13 or 14 (the main character is 13). Yes, Niska is a Cree word, with several meanings, and our dog is from a Cree community in northern Quebec. Also, it’s the name of a character in Joseph Boyden’s novel, Three Day Road. (Another favorite author of mine.) By the way, one of the characters in my book is called Naomi! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s